New Podcast on VDMA's OPC UA Companion Specifications now online

VDMA

In the new episode of the OPC Foundation Podcast Andreas Faath explains the role of the VDMA in the development of OPC UA Companion Specifications. The head of OPC UA in VDMA gives an overview of the active working groups in VDMA and explains the process underlying the development of a Companion Specification.

In the OPC Foundation podcast on VDMA OPC UA Companion Specifications, Andreas Faath, Head of OPC UA at VDMA, reports on the leading role of VDMA in the development of OPC UA Companion Specifications for mechanical and plant engineering. It shows that the development follows a process that starts with the preparation of the technical work and ends with the publication and use in industry.

The podcast illustrates why it will be the special task of the VDMA in the future to ensure consistency between different VDMA OPC UA Companion Specifications and what is behind the OPC UA for Machinery project.

 

Questions also answered in the podcast:

  • Who is the VDMA?
  • Why and since when is the VDMA and thus the European and international mechanical and plant engineering industry dealing with OPC UA?
  • Are there also competing standards in mechanical engineering or has OPC UA established itself as the preferred standard?
  • How long does it take to define a Companion Specification?
  • Are the VDMA OPC UA Companion Specifications also globally recognized?
  • How does the VDMA involve global partners in the development process?
  • Is the VDMA the "OPC UA interoperability hub" for Germany and maybe even for the world?
  • What can listeners do if they need more information or want to participate in one of the many groups?

Please click on the image below to listen to the podcast.

Podcast zu OPC UA Companion Specifications des VDMA

VDMA

In der Folge des OPC Foundation Podcast erläutert Andreas Faath die Rolle des VDMA bei der Entwicklung von OPC UA Companion Specifications. Der Leiter OPC UA im VDMA gibt einen Überblick über die aktiven Arbeitskreise im VDMA und erklärt den Prozess, der der Entwicklung einer Companion Specification zugrunde liegt.

Im Podcast der OPC Foundation zum Thema VDMA OPC UA Companion Specifications berichtet Andreas Faath, Leitung OPC UA im VDMA, über die Führungsrolle des VDMA bei der Entwicklung von OPC UA Companion Specifications für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau. Er zeigt auf, dass die Erarbeitung einem Prozess folgt, welcher mit der Vorbereitung auf die fachlichen Arbeiten beginnt und mit der Veröffentlichung und Nutzung in der Industrie endet.

Der Podcast verdeutlicht, warum es die besondere Aufgabe des VDMA zukünftig sein wird, die Konsistenz zwischen verschiedenen VDMA OPC UA Companion Specifications sicherzustellen und was sich hinter dem Vorhaben OPC UA for Machinery verbirgt.

 

Ebenfalls im Podcast beantwortete Fragen:

  • Wer ist der VDMA?
  • Warum und seit wann beschäftigt sich der VDMA und damit der europäische und internationale Maschinen- und Anlagenbau mit OPC UA?
  • Gibt es im Maschinenbau auch konkurrierende Standards oder hat sich OPC UA hier zum Vorzugsstandard etabliert?
  • Wie lange dauert die Definition einer Companion Specification?
  • Werden die VDMA OPC UA Companion Specifications auch global anerkannt?
  • Wie bindet der VDMA globale Partner in den Entwicklungsprozess mit ein?
  • Ist der VDMA der „OPC UA-Interoperabilitäts-Hub“ für Deutschland und vielleicht sogar für die Welt?
  • Was können die Zuhörer tun, sollten sie noch weitere Informationen benötigen oder sich an einer der zahlreichen Gruppen beteiligen wollen?

Bitte klicken Sie auf das untenstehende Bild um den Podcast anzuhören.