OPC UA for Machinery: Interface description for the entire mechanical engineering

Shutterstock

Extensive work is currently being carried out under the umbrella of the VDMA to standardize the interfaces of machines and components in individual sectors. In the "OPC UA for Machinery" Companion Specification all basic information models resulting from this work are combined.

The preferred standard for these future-oriented interfaces is OPC UA (Open Platform Communication Unified Architecture). OPC UA offers besides the technology the possibility to describe products and functions. This is done in the form of so-called Companion Specifications, which are specific to the industry. Currently, around 30 working groups within the VDMA are working on such Companion Specifications, and over 450 companies in the industry are involved in the preparation process.

Due to the central coordination within the VDMA, it turned out that some interface contents occur across industries. Accordingly, the idea was born to create a basic specification for the entire machine and plant construction. This base specification will be called "OPC UA for Machinery". On the one hand, this is to be used as a basic building block for existing and emerging Companion Specifications. On the other hand, machines or equipment of the mechanical engineering industry can use the contents of the specification if no standardized interface of their own industry is yet available.

"OPC UA for Machinery is the basic building block for Industrie 4.0 communication"

In order to enable early adaptation, content is developed and published in so-called building blocks. This reduces the development time and thus allows to use content that would otherwise not be public. In addition, depending on requirements, only certain or all building blocks can be used in the industry-specific Companion Specifications. This also applies to use without industry-specific companion specifications.
 

Procedure and working method
The working mode for creating "OPC UA for Machinery" differs from the usual procedure found in industry-specific Companion Specifications. First, a group of experts prepares a draft for each building block in the so-called core working group. The expert group is composed of specialists from various industries who have a high level of expertise in both OPC UA and mechanical engineering, especially for the addressed topic. At regular intervals, the draft prepared by the core working group is compared with the members of the overall working group. All members of the VDMA and the OPC Foundation are eligible to participate in the overall working group. As soon as the developed draft has reached a certain degree of maturity, the document is passed on to the OPC UA working groups of the VDMA for review. Only after the comments submitted in the VDMA internal review process have been processed, a Release Candidate will be given into the public objection phase.
 
Part I already published The first two building blocks have been available to the public in the form of a release candidate since the end of April. Each Building Block covers one use case. The first two use cases covered are:
  • Identification and nameplate of machines
  • Finding all machines in the server
In order to identify the next needed use cases and further requirements, feedback was gathered from the OPC UA working groups of the mechanical and plant engineering and manufacturing industries, as well as the Industry 4.0 community. These were collected and evaluated to create a plan of action for the next topics to be addressed. The work will continue seamlessly, so that further building blocks will be published continuously until the end of the project. The following use cases were identified as the next topics to be addressed:
  • Identification and nameplate of components
  • Machine status

Contact
Heiko Herden
VDMA Forum Industrie 4.0 / OPC UA
Phone +49 69 6603-1315
E-Mail heiko.herden@vdma.org

RELATED CONTENT

OPC UA for Machinery: Schnittstellenbeschreibung für den gesamten Maschinenbau

Shutterstock

Unter dem Dach des VDMA finden aktuell umfangreiche Arbeiten statt, um die Schnittstellen von Maschinen und Komponenten einzelner Branchen zu standardisieren. In der „OPC UA for Machinery“ Companion Specification werden alle aus dieser Arbeit resultierenden Basisinformationsmodelle zusammengeführt.

Als Vorzugsstandard für diese zukunftsorientierten Schnittstellen wird die Technologie OPC UA (Open Platform Communication Unified Architecture) favorisiert. OPC UA bietet neben der Technologie die Möglichkeit an, Produkte und Funktionen zu beschreiben. Das erfolgt branchenspezifisch in Form sogenannter Companion Specifications. Aktuell wird im VDMA in rund 30 Arbeitsgruppen an solchen Companion Specifications gearbeitet, über 450 Unternehmen der Branche sind in den Erstellungsprozess involviert.

Durch die zentrale Koordination im VDMA stellte sich heraus, dass einige Schnittstelleninhalte branchenübergreifend auftreten. Dementsprechend entstand die Idee, eine Basisspezifikation für den gesamten Maschinen- und Anlagenbau zu erstellen. Diese Basisspezifikation wird den Namen „OPC UA for Machinery“ tragen. Diese soll einerseits als Basisbaustein für bestehende und entstehende Companion Specifications genutzt werden. Andererseits können Maschinen oder Gerätschaften des Maschinenbaus die Inhalte der Spezifikation verwenden, falls noch keine genormte Schnittstelle der eigenen Branche vorliegt.

„OPC UA for Machinery ist der Basisbaustein für die Industrie 4.0 Kommunikation“

Um eine frühzeitige Adaption zu ermöglichen, erfolgt die Entwicklung und Veröffentlichung von Inhalten in so genannten Building Blocks. Dies senkt die Entwicklungszeit und ermöglicht somit Inhalte zu verwenden, die sonst noch nicht öffentlich wären. Je nach Bedarf können in den branchenspezifischen Companion Specifications außerdem nur bestimmte oder alle Building Blocks verwendet werden. Dies trifft auch für die Verwendung ohne branchenspezifische Companion Specifications zu.
 

Vorgehen und Arbeitsweise

Der Arbeitsmodus bei der Erstellung von „OPC UA for Machinery“ unterscheidet sich von dem üblichen, bei branchenspezifischen Companion Specifications vorzufindenden Vorgehen. Zunächst wird jeweils für die Building Blocks von einer Expertengruppe ein Entwurf in der sogenannten Kernarbeitsgruppe vorbereitet. Die Expertengruppe setzt sich aus Spezialisten aus verschiedenen Branchen zusammen, die sowohl in Bezug auf OPC UA als auch den Maschinenbau ein hohes Maß an Expertise, insbesondere für das adressierte Thema, vorweisen können. In regelmäßigen Abständen wird der von der Kernarbeitsgruppe erarbeitete Entwurf mit den Mitgliedern der Gesamtarbeitsgruppe abgeglichen. Für die Teilnahme an der Gesamtarbeitsgruppe sind alle Mitglieder des VDMA und der OPC-Foundation berechtigt. Sobald der entwickelte Entwurf einen gewissen Reifegrad erreicht hat, wird das Dokument an die OPC UA Arbeitskreise des VDMA zur Überprüfung weitergegeben. Erst sobald die im VDMA-internen Überprüfungsprozess eingebrachten Kommentare bearbeitet wurden, wird ein Release Candidate in die öffentliche Einspruchsphase gegeben.

Part I bereits veröffentlicht

Die ersten beiden Building Blocks stehen der Öffentlichkeit seit Ende April in Form eines Release Candidates zur Verfügung. Durch einen Building Block wird jeweils ein Anwendungsfall abgedeckt. Die ersten beiden behandelten Anwendungsfälle sind:

  • Identifikation und Namensschild von Maschinen
  • Finden aller Maschinen im Server

Um die nächsten benötigten Anwendungsfälle und weitere Anforderungen zu identifizieren, wurden Rückmeldungen der OPC UA Arbeitskreise des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus und des Verarbeitenden Gewerbes, sowie der Industrie 4.0 Community eingeholt. Diese wurden gesammelt und bewertet, um einen Vorgehensplan für die nächsten zu behandelnen Themen zu erstellen. Die Arbeiten werden nahtlos fortgeführt, sodass bis zum Projektende kontinuierlich weitere Buildung Blocks veröffentlich werden. Als nächste Themen wurden die folgenden Anwendungsfälle identifiziert:

  • Identifikation und Namensschild von Komponenten
  • Maschinenstatus

 

Kontakt
Heiko Herden
VDMA Forum Industrie 4.0 / OPC UA
Telefon +49 69 6603-1315
E-Mail heiko.herden@vdma.org

Ähnliche Artikel