OPC UA for Machinery

Shutterstock

In the "OPC UA for Machinery" Companion Specification all basic information models resulting from the work of all OPC UA working groups are combined.

The mechanical and plant engineering industry makes great efforts to create information models in OPC UA. As the central host, the VDMA coordinates the activities of around 30 working groups that define a common, cross-sectoral language between machines and systems with the OPC UA Companion Specifications. As a result of this cooperation, it quickly became clear that basic information and functions are needed in almost all of these groups. It was therefore decided to develop and publish a specification called "OPC UA for Machinery". This specification will unify all resulting basic information models.

 


The "OPC UA for Machinery" specification is divided into several parts. Each part will consist of some addressed functions or use cases. These are summarized in so-called Building Blocks. Selected Building Blocks can be used both in implementations of sector-specific companion specifications and in implementations without existing companion specifications.

Structure

The work on "OPC UA for Machinery" is coordinated by the VDMA. The editor of this group is Dr. Wolfgang Mahnke. He is an expert for OPC UA and leads the harmonization of the OPC Foundation. Since the "OPC UA for Machinery" specification is the harmonization for the machine building industry and is also a part of the specification library of the OPC Foundation, it is especially important to consider the big picture.


Scope

This Companion Specification is aimed at machines and machine components that are used in discrete manufacturing in mechanical and plant engineering.

Here, "machine" means any device that converts energy (e.g. electricity, steam, gas, human power, pressure) into mechanical movements, heat, electrical signals, pressure, etc. to perform a specific task in an industrial scenario.

are non-exclusive examples:

a. Machines according to ISO 12100:2010,3.1 ("assembly, fitted with or intended to be fitted with a drive system consisting of linked parts or components, at least one of which moves, and which are joined together for a specific application"), z.e.g. machine tools, injection moulding machines, woodworking machines, packaging machines

b. accessories and auxiliary equipment, e.g. interchangeable equipment, load handling attachments, partly completed machinery

c. Devices and modules for the process industry, e.g. furnaces, power plants

d. Control systems for machines as in a), measuring, analysis and test equipment

e. Equipment consisting of several units of a)-d)


A " component of a machine" is a part of a machine which is not itself a machine.

Non-exclusive examples are drives, valves, safety devices.

 

Content

The "OPC UA for Machinery" specification will include various Building Blocks for Machinery that address use cases for different types of machines described in various industry specific Companion Specifications. The first use cases covered in Part 1 are:

  • Identification and nameplate of machines
  • Finding all machines in the server

The intention of the working group is not to define a single information model, but to continuously work on generalized concepts in the field of mechanical engineering in order to harmonize the application of OPC UA in the context of the mechanical engineering industry.

 

Procedure and working method

The mode of operation when creating "OPC UA for Machinery" is different from the usual procedure found in industry-specific Companion Specifications. First, a group of experts prepares a draft for each building block in the so-called core working group. The expert group is composed of specialists from various industries who have a high level of expertise in both OPC UA and mechanical engineering, especially for the addressed topic. At regular intervals, the draft prepared by the core working group is compared with the members of the overall working group. All members of the VDMA and the OPC Foundation are entitled to participate in the overall working group. As soon as the developed draft has reached a certain degree of maturity, the document is passed on to the OPC UA working groups of the VDMA for review. Only after the comments submitted in the VDMA internal review process have been processed, a Release Candidate will be given into the public objection phase.

 

Part I published

The development of the first building blocks is now completed. These have been published in the form of a Part I and are now available for comment. The first two use cases covered are:

- Identification and nameplate of machines

- Finding all machines in the server

In order to identify the next needed use cases and further requirements, feedback was gathered from the OPC UA working groups of the mechanical and plant engineering and manufacturing industries as well as the Industry 4.0 community. These were collected and evaluated to create a plan of action for the next topics to be defined. The work will continue seamlessly, so that by the end of the project, more Building Blocks will be published in additional Parts. The following use cases were identified as next topics:

  • Identification and nameplate of components
  • Machine status

 

Comments are possible until September 1, 2020

The draft of "OPC UA for Machinery" Part I has been made freely available in the database of the VDMA, and comments can be made on this draft until 01.09.2020. The comments received will be processed in a so-called objection consultation after expiry of the comment period.

▶︎ OPC UA for Machinery - Part I

 

Downloads

RELATED CONTENT

OPC UA for Machinery

Shutterstock

In der „OPC UA for Machinery“ Companion Specification werden alle aus der Arbeit aller OPC UA Arbeitskreise resultierenden Basisinformationsmodelle zusammengeführt.

Der Maschinen- und Anlagenbau unternimmt große Anstrengungen, Informationsmodelle in OPC UA zu erstellen. Als zentraler Gastgeber koordiniert der VDMA die Aktivitäten von rund 30 Arbeitskreisen, die mit den OPC UA Companion Specifications eine gemeinsame, branchenübergreifende Sprache zwischen Maschinen und Anlagen definieren. Als Ergebnis dieser Zusammenarbeit wurde schnell deutlich, dass in fast allen diesen Gruppen grundlegende Informationen und Funktionen benötigt werden. Es wurde daher beschlossen, eine Spezifikation mit dem Namen „OPC UA for Machinery“ zu entwickeln und zu veröffentlichen. Diese Spezifikation wird alle resultierenden Basisinformationsmodelle zusammenführen.

 


Die "OPC UA for Machinery"-Spezifikation wird in mehrere Teile aufgeteilt. Jeder Teil wird aus einigen angesprochenen Funktionen oder Anwendungsfällen bestehen. Diese werden in so genannten Building Blocks zusammengefasst. Ausgewählte Building Blocks können sowohl in Implementierungen von sektorspezifischen Begleitspezifikationen als auch in Implementierungen ohne bestehende Begleitspezifikationen verwendet werden.
 

Aufbau

Die Arbeiten zu "OPC UA for Machinery" werden vom VDMA koordiniert. Der Editor dieser Gruppe ist Dr. Wolfgang Mahnke. Er ist ein Experte für OPC UA und leitet die Harmonisierung der OPC Foundation. Da die "OPC UA for Machinery" Spezifikation die Harmonisierung für die Maschinenbauindustrie ist und auch einen Teil der Spezifikationsbibliothek der OPC Foundation darstellt, ist es besonders wichtig, dass das Gesamtbild berücksichtigt wird.


Umfang

Diese Companion Specification zielt auf Maschinen und Maschinenkomponenten ab, die in der diskreten Fertigung im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau zu finden sind.

Hier bedeutet "Maschine" jedes Gerät, das Energie (z.B. Elektrizität, Dampf, Gas, menschliche Kraft, Druck) in mechanische Bewegungen, Wärme, elektrische Signale, Druck usw. umwandelt, um eine bestimmte Aufgabe in einem industriellen Szenario zu erfüllen.

Nicht ausschließliche Beispiele sind:

a.    Maschinen gemäß ISO 12100:2010,3.1 (“assembly,  fitted  with  or  intended  to  be  fitted  with  a  drive  system consisting of linked parts or components, at least one of which moves, and which are joined together for  a  specific  application”),  z.B. Werkzeugmaschinen, Spritzgussmaschinen, Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen, Verpackungsmaschinen

b.    Zubehör und Hilfsgeräte, z.B. austauschbare Geräte, Lastaufnahmemittel, unvollständige Maschinen

c.    Geräte und Module für die Prozessindustrie, z.B. Öfen, Energieanlagen

d.    Steuerungssysteme für Maschinen wie unter a), Mess-, Analyse- und Prüfgeräte

e.    Anlagen, die aus mehreren Einheiten von a)-d) bestehen 


Eine "Komponente einer Maschine" ist ein Teil einer Maschine, der selbst keine Maschine ist.

Nicht ausschließliche Beispiele sind Antriebe, Ventile, Sicherheitseinrichtungen.

 

Inhalt

Die „OPC UA for Machinery“ Spezifikation wird diverse Building Blocks für Maschinen enthalten, die Anwendungsfälle für verschiedene Arten von Maschinen, die in verschiedenen branchenspezifischen Companion Specifications beschrieben sind, behandeln. Die ersten Anwendungsfälle, die in Teil 1 behandelt werden, sind:

  • Identifikation und Namensschild von Maschinen
  • Finden aller Maschinen im Server

Die Absicht der Arbeitsgruppe ist es nicht, ein einziges Informationsmodell zu definieren, sondern kontinuierlich an verallgemeinerten Konzepten im Bereich des Maschinenbaus zu arbeiten, um die Anwendung von OPC UA im Kontext der Maschinenbauindustrie zu harmonisieren.

 

Vorgehen und Arbeitsweise

Der Arbeitsmodus bei der Erstellung von „OPC UA for Machinery“ unterscheidet sich von dem üblichen, bei branchenspezifischen Companion Specifications vorzufindenden Vorgehen. Zunächst wird jeweils für die Building Blocks von einer Expertengruppe ein Entwurf in der sogenannten Kernarbeitsgruppe vorbereitet. Die Expertengruppe setzt sich aus Spezialisten aus verschiedenen Branchen zusammen, die sowohl in Bezug auf OPC UA als auch den Maschinenbau ein hohes Maß an Expertise, insbesondere für das adressierte Thema, vorweisen können. In regelmäßigen Abständen wird der von der Kernarbeitsgruppe erarbeitete Entwurf mit den Mitgliedern der Gesamtarbeitsgruppe abgeglichen. Für die Teilnahme an der Gesamtarbeitsgruppe sind alle Mitglieder des VDMA und der OPC-Foundation berechtigt. Sobald der entwickelte Entwurf einen gewissen Reifegrad erreicht hat, wird das Dokument an die OPC UA Arbeitskreise des VDMA zur Überprüfung weitergegeben. Erst sobald die im VDMA-internen Überprüfungsprozess eingebrachten Kommentare bearbeitet wurden, wird ein Release Candidate in die öffentliche Einspruchsphase gegeben.

 

Part I veröffentlicht 

Die Entwicklung der ersten Building Blocks ist nun abgeschlossen. Diese wurden in Form eines Part I veröffentlicht und stehen nun zur Kommentierung zur Verfügung. Die ersten beiden behandelten Anwendungsfälle sind:

- Identifikation und Namensschild von Maschinen

- Finden aller Maschinen im Server

Um die nächsten benötigten Anwendungsfälle und weitere Anforderungen zu identifizieren, wurden Rückmeldungen der OPC UA Arbeitskreise des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus und des Verarbeitenden Gewerbes, sowie der Industrie 4.0 Community eingeholt. Diese wurden gesammelt und bewertet, um einen Vorgehensplan für die nächsten zu definierenden Themen zu erstellen. Die Arbeiten werden nahtlos fortgeführt, sodass bis zum Projektende kontinuierlich weitere Building Blocks in weiteren Parts veröffentlich werden. Als nächste Themen wurden die folgenden Anwendungsfälle identifiziert:

  • Identifikation und Namensschild von Komponenten
  • Maschinenstatus

 

Kommentierung bis zum 1. September 2020 möglich

Der Entwurf von „OPC UA for Machinery“ Part I wurde auf der Datenbank des VDMA frei zugänglich zur Verfügung gestellt. Bis zum 01.09.2020 kann dieser Entwurf kommentiert werden. Die eingegangenen Kommentare werden nach Ablauf der Kommentierungsfrist in einer so genannten Einspruchsberatung bearbeitet.

▶︎  OPC UA for Machinery - Part I 

 

Downloads

Ähnliche Artikel