OPC Machine Vision

Shutterstock

The OPC UA Companion Specification Machine Vision (in short OPC Machine Vision) provides a generic information model for all vision systems - from simple vision sensors to complex inspection systems.

Put simply, it defines the essence of any vision system that does not necessarily have to be a "machine" vision system. OPC Machine Vision is the accepted and officially supported OPC UA Companion Specification for vision systems by the OPC Foundation. See figure 1.

The scope is not only to complement or substitute existing interfaces between a vision system and its process environment by using OPC UA, but rather to create non- existing horizontal and vertical integration abilities to communicate relevant data to other authorized process participants, e.g. right up to the IT enterprise level. It is possible to have a gradual phase-in of OPC Machine Vision with coexisting other interfaces. The benefits are a shorter time to market by a simplified integration, a generic applicability and scalability and an improved customer perception due to defined and consistent semantics. Specific example: OPC Machine Vision enables Machine Vision to speak to the whole factory and beyond.

 

Fundamentals

A vision system is any system that has the capability to record and process digital images or video streams, typically with the aim of extracting information from this data. The output of a vision system can be any image-based information like measurements, inspection results, process control data, robot guidance data, etc. See figure 2.

The basic concept of OPC Machune Vision is a subdivision into several parts. Part 1 includes the basis specification and describes an infrastructure layer which provides basic services in a generic way. From part 2, a vision skill layer is addressed which provides more specific vision services. See figure 3.

 

OPC Machine Vision, part 1

Part 1 describes an abstraction of the generic vision system, i.e. the representation of the so called "digital twin" of the system. It handles the management of recipes, configurations and results in a standardized way, whereas the contents stay vendor-specific and are treated as black boxes (1). It allows the control of a vision system in a generalized way, abstracting the necessary behavior via a state machine concept (2). See figure 4.

 

Future parts

In future parts, the generic basic information model will shift to a more specific "skill-based” information model. Vision skills could include presence detection, completeness inspection, pose detection, etc. For this purpose, the proprietary input and output data black boxes will be broken down and substituted with standardized information structures and semantics.

 

Partners:

VDMA

The VDMA represents more than 3,200 member companies in the medium-sized mechanical and plant engineering sector. With 1.35 million employees in Germany and a turnover of 224 billion euros (2017), the sector is the largest industrial employer and one of the leading German branches of industry overall.

G3

International G3 initiative to coordinate the development of globally adopted vision standards in cooperation of the American (AIA), Chinese (CMVU), European (VDMA and EMVA) and Japanese (JIIA) trade associations.

OPC Foundation

With over 600 member companies, the OPC Foundation is the world's leading community for interoperability solutions based on the OPC communication specifications. OPC is an interoperability framework for the secure, reliable and platform-independent exchange of information. OPC technology is widely used to integrate information in industrial automation and to enable data transfer from the smallest sensor to the enterprise IT level.


Videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUywlZ1oong

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8yhyugGNI

 

Core working group members:

See figure 5

Downloads

Industrielle Bildverarbeitung

Shutterstock

Die OPC UA Companion Specification Machine Vision (kurz OPC Machine Vision) bietet ein generisches Informationsmodell für alle Bildverarbeitungssysteme - vom einfachen Visionssensor bis zum komplexen Inspektionssystem.

Einfach ausgedrückt, definiert es den Wesenskern eines jeden Bildverarbeitungssystems, das nicht unbedingt ein "industrielles" Bildverarbeitungssystem sein muss. OPC Machine Vision ist die von der OPC Foundation akzeptierte und offiziell unterstützte OPC UA Companion Specification für Bildverarbeitungssysteme. Siehe Abbildung 1.

Dabei geht es nicht nur darum, bestehende Schnittstellen zwischen einem Bildverarbeitungssystem und seiner Prozessumgebung durch den Einsatz von OPC UA zu ergänzen oder zu ersetzen, sondern auch darum, nicht vorhandene horizontale und vertikale Integrationsfähigkeiten zu schaffen, um relevante Daten an andere autorisierte Prozessbeteiligte zu kommunizieren, z.B. bis hin zur ERP- und Cloud-Ebene. Es ist möglich, eine schrittweise Integration von OPC Machine Vision mit koexistierenden anderen Schnittstellen durchzuführen. Die Vorteile sind eine kürzere Time-to-Market durch eine vereinfachte Integration, eine generische Anwendbarkeit und Skalierbarkeit und eine verbesserte Kundenwahrnehmung durch eine definierte und konsistente Semantik. Konkretes Beispiel: OPC Machine Vision ermöglicht es Bildverarbeitung, mit der gesamten Fabrik und darüber hinaus zu sprechen.

 

Grundlagen

Ein Bildverarbeitungssystem ist jenes System, das in der Lage ist, digitale Bilder oder Videoströme aufzuzeichnen und zu verarbeiten, typischerweise mit dem Ziel, Informationen aus diesen Daten zu extrahieren. Die Ausgabe eines Bildverarbeitungssystems kann beliebige bildbasierte Informationen wie Messungen, Prüfergebnisse, Prozesskontrolldaten, Roboterführungsdaten usw. sein. Siehe Abbildung 2.

Das Grundkonzept von OPC Machine Vision ist eine Unterteilung in mehrere Teile. Teil 1 enthält die Basisspezifikation und beschreibt eine Infrastrukturschicht, die Basisdienste auf generische Weise anbietet. Ab Teil 2 wird ein Bildverarbeitungsfähigkeiten-Layer angesprochen, welcher spezifischere Bildverarbeitungsdienste bereitstellt. Siehe Abbildung 3.

 

OPC Machine Vision, Teil 1

Teil 1 beschreibt eine Abstraktion des generischen Bildverarbeitungssystems, d.h. die Darstellung des sogenannten "digitalen Zwillings" des Systems. Es übernimmt die Verwaltung von Rezepten, Konfigurationen und Resultaten auf standardisierte Weise, während die Inhalte herstellerspezifisch bleiben und als Blackboxen behandelt werden (1). Es ermöglicht die verallgemeinerte Steuerung eines Visionssystems und abstrahiert das notwendige Verhalten über ein Statusmaschinenkonzept (2). Siehe hierzu die Abbildung 4.

 

Zukünftige Teile

In zukünftigen Teilen wird das generische Basisinformationsmodell auf ein spezifischeres "fähigkeitsbasiertes" Informationsmodell erweitert. Bildverarbeitungsfähigkeiten können Anwesenheitserkennung, Vollständigkeitsprüfung, Posenerkennung usw. beinhalten. Zu diesem Zweck werden die proprietären Ein- und Ausgabe-Datenblackboxen aufgelöst und durch standardisierte Informationsstrukturen und Semantiken ersetzt.

 

Partner:

VDMA

Der VDMA vertritt mehr als 3.200 Mitgliedsunternehmen des mittelständisch geprägten Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus. Mit 1,35 Millionen Erwerbstätigen im Inland und einem Umsatz von 224 Milliarden Euro (2017) ist die Branche größter industrieller Arbeitgeber und einer der führenden deutschen Industriezweige insgesamt.

G3

Internationalen G3-Initiative zur Koordination der Entwicklung global anerkannter Bildverarbeitungsstandards in Zusammenarbeit der amerikanischen (AIA), chinesischen (CMVU), europäischen (VDMA und EMVA) und japanischen (JIIA) Industrieverbände.

OPC Foundation

Die OPC Foundation ist mit über 600 Mitgliedsfirmen die weltweit führende Gemeinschaft für Interoperabilitätslösungen basierend auf den OPC-Kommunikations-Spezifikationen. OPC ist ein Interoperabilitäts-Standard für den sicheren, zuverlässigen und plattform-unabhängigen Austausch von Informationen. Die OPC-Technologie wird weitgehend genutzt, um Informationen in der industriellen Automatisierung zu integrieren und um den Datentransfer vom kleinsten Sensor bis in die Enterprise-IT-Ebene zu ermöglichen.


Videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUywlZ1oong

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8yhyugGNI

 

Kernarbeitskreismitglieder:
Siehe die Abbildung 5

Downloads