News

90 members answered our questions about OPC UA. Half of the member companies deal with the topic or are actively working on its implementation.
  • Part 1 of the OPC UA Robotics Companion Specification – Released.
  • Standardization of the interface for Industrial Robots enables seamless communication.   
OPC UA for Machine Vision (OPC Machine Vision) - Part 1: Control, configuration management, recipe management, result management
The universal machine tool interface - umati for short - will be presented at the "EMO Hannover" trade fair from 16 to 21 September in the form of live demonstrations.
Around 270 participants from the circles of VDMA companies as well as the Chinese mechanical engineering and customer industries held fruitful discussions on trends, visions and content relating to the intelligent production of tomorrow.
The "umati" project, which was launched as an initiative of the VDW, has gained considerably in participation since its presentation at AMB 2018. With the launch of the OPC UA Joint Working Group (JWG) in February 2019, more than 60 companies worldwide are currently working on the further standardization of the interface for machine tools. The resonance of the customers is enormous and underlines the necessity of this work.
12.06.2019
The "Plug & Work" framework was presented for the first time at LIGNA 2019. Under the umbrella of EUMABOIS and VDMA, this project develops uniform communication interfaces for the wood processing industry on the basis of OPC UA.
Over 306 participants from the automotive and supplier industries contributed to the success of the "OPC Day Automotive" at Volkswagen in Wolfsburg.
07.05.2019
In order to exploit the potential of Industry 4.0, machines and systems must communicate smoothly with each other. The basis for this is a common language - mechanical engineering relies on OPC UA as an open and manufacturer-independent standard.
Three keynotes, 35 worldwide working groups, 353 registered visitors and many conversations with actors from all over the world. The World Interoperbility Conference takes the OPC UA community to the next level of collaboration!
After the kick-off on 22 February 2019 this working group wants to present the umati (universal machine tool interface) OPC UA Companion Specification as Release Candidate until EMO 2019.
The joint OPC UA working group “umati OPC UA JWG” has been established between VDW, the German machine tool builders’ association and the OPC Foundation.
On November 2nd the first "Meeting of the OPC UA Working Groups in the VDMA" took place. Presentations by experts from the OPC community inform the working group participants about the most important activities and innovations concerning OPC UA. In moderated parallel sessions an intensive exchange of experiences took place between the participants of different working groups.
In the smart factory of the future, machines must speak the same language. The decisive factor here is the standardization of communication interfaces.
OPC UA is an open interface standard that defines the mechanisms of cooperation in the industrial environment. The VDMA prioritizes its activities on this interface standard and gives an important orientation to the machine and plant engineering sector. The VDMA guideline “Industrie 4.0 Communication Guideline based on OPC UA” shows action steps that help to implement Industrie 4.0 communication in the company.

Asset Publisher

OPC UA: a common language for all machines
In the digital production world, machines from different manufacturers must be able to communicate with each other. This requires uniform standards, in the development of which the VDMA is significantly involved: the OPC UA Companion Specifications.
read more

The OPC UA working groups at a glance
The VDMA coordinates the activities of more than 26 working groups, which define a common, cross-sector language between machines and plants in the form of "OPC UA Companion Specifications".
read more

Asset Publisher

VDMA-Einheitsblatt 40 000
VDMA Working Group VDMA-Einheitsblatt 40 000 "How to write an OPC UA Companion Specification"
read more
Andreas Faath
Andreas Faath
Management Interoperability - OPC UA
+49 69 6603 1495
+49 69 6603 2495
Dr. Christian Mosch
Dr. Christian Mosch
Management Industrie 4.0 standardization
+49 69 6603 1939
+49 69 6603 2939
Heiko Herden
Heiko Herden
Project Coordinator OPC UA
+49 69 6603 1315
+49 69 6603 2315
OPC UA Companion Specifications –an important prerequisite on the way to Industrie 4.0
The definition of uniform interfaces in production is a prerequisite on the way to Industrie 4.0. The VDMA is currently focusing on the interface standard OPC UA and is developing industry-specific OPC UA Companion Specifications. An OPC UA Companion Specification is an information model suitable for all manufacturers which represents the real interfaces between components, machines and systems.
Communication with OPC UA
An important basis for the successful introduction of Industry 4.0 is the manufacturer-independent exchange of data in production. The open interface standard OPC UA is increasingly established for this purpose. The VDMA guideline shows how companies can successfully introduce industry 4.0 communication with OPC UA.

Aktuelles

90 Mitglieder beantworteten unsere Fragen zu OPC UA. Die Hälfte der Mitgliedsfirmen beschäftigt sich mit dem Thema oder arbeitet aktiv an der Umsetzung.
  • Part 1 der OPC UA Robotics Companion Specification veröffentlicht
  • Standardisierung der Schnittstelle für Industrieroboter sorgt für nahtlose Kommunikationsanbindung 
OPC UA for Machine Vision (OPC Machine Vision) - Teil 1: Steuerung, Konfigurationsverwaltung, Rezeptverwaltung, Ergebnisverwaltung
Das universal machine tool interface – kurz umati - wird auf der Messe „EMO Hannover“ vom 16. bis 21. September in Form von Live-Demonstrationen vorgestellt.
Rund 270 Teilnehmer aus VDMA-Mitgliedsunternehmen sowie der chinesischen Maschinenbau- und Kundenindustrie diskutierten über Trends, Visionen und Inhalte rund um die intelligente Produktion von morgen.
Das als Initiative des VDW gestartete Projekt "umati" hat seit der Vorstellung auf der AMB 2018 deutlich an Beteiligung gewonnen. Mit Start der OPC UA Joint Working Group (JWG) im Februar 2019 arbeiten zur Zeit mehr als 60 Unternehmen weltweit an der weiteren Standardisierung der Schnittstelle für Werkzeugmaschinen. Die Resonanz der Kunden ist riesengroß und unterstreicht die Notwendigkeit dieser Arbeit.
12.06.2019
Auf der LIGNA 2019 wurde erstmalig das Framework "Plug & Work" vorgestellt. Dieses Projekt entwickelt unter dem Dach von EUMABOIS und VDMA einheitliche Kommunikationsschnittstellen für die holzverarbeitende Industrie auf der Basis von OPC UA.
Über 306 Teilnehmer aus Automobil- und Zulieferindustrie haben zum Erfolg des "OPC Day Automotive“ bei Volkswagen in Wolfsburg beigetragen.
07.05.2019
Um die Potenziale von Industrie 4.0 nutzen zu können, müssen Maschinen und Systeme reibungslos miteinander kommunizieren. Basis hierfür ist eine gemeinsame Sprache – der Maschinenbau setzt auf OPC UA als offenen und herstellerübergreifenden Standard.
Drei Keynotes, 35 weltweit tätige Arbeitsgruppen, 353 registrierte Besucher und zahlreiche Gespräche mit Akteuren aus der ganzen Welt. Die World Interoperbility Conference hebt die OPC UA Community auf die nächste Stufe der Zusammenarbeit!
Nach dem Kick-off am 22. Februar 2019 will diese Arbeitsgruppe die umati (universal machine tool interface) OPC UA Companion Specification bis zur EMO 2019 als Release Candidate vorstellen.
15.02.2019
Kick-Off-Meeting im Rahmen der Hannover Messe 2019
Die gemeinsame OPC UA Arbeitsgruppe "umati OPC UA JWG" wurde zwischen dem VDW, dem Verein Deutscher Werkzeugmaschinen- hersteller und der OPC Foundation gegründet.
Auf der ersten „Sitzung der OPC-UA-Arbeitskreise im VDMA“ am 05.11.2018 informierten Experten aus der OPC Community über die wichtigsten Aktivitäten und Neuerungen rund um das Thema OPC UA.
In der intelligenten Fabrik der Zukunft müssen Maschinen dieselbe Sprache sprechen. Entscheidend hierfür ist die Standardisierung von Kommunikationsschnittstellen.
Die OPC Foundation ist die weltweit führende Gemeinschaft für industrielle Interoperabilitätslösungen, basierend auf den so genannten "OPC Companion Specifications". Der VDMA ist nun vollwertiges Corporate-Mitglied dieser Organisation.
Der VDMA hat gemeinsam mit dem Münchner Start-Up „University4Industry“ ein Online-Schulungsprogramm zur Umsetzung von OPC UA entwickelt.
Der VDMA-Leitfaden „Kommunikation mit OPC UA“ zeigt, wie Unternehmen Industrie-4.0-Kommunikation mit dem offenen Schnittstellenstandard OPC UA erfolgreich einführen können. Der Leitfaden ist jetzt auch in Englisch erhältlich.

Asset Publisher

OPC UA: eine gemeinsame Sprache für alle Maschinen
In der digitalen Produktionswelt müssen Maschinen unterschiedlicher Hersteller miteinander kommunizieren können. Dafür braucht es einheitliche Standards, an deren Entwicklung der VDMA maßgeblich beteiligt ist: die OPC UA Companion Specifications.
weiterlesen

Die OPC UA Arbeitskreise im Überblick
Der VDMA koordiniert die Aktivitäten von über 26 Arbeitskreisen, die in Form von „OPC UA Companion Specifications“ eine gemeinsame, branchenübergreifende Sprache zwischen Maschinen und Anlagen definieren. Hier ein Überblick.
weiterlesen

Asset Publisher

Erarbeitungsprozess OPC UA CS
VDMA Arbeitsgruppe VDMA-Einheitsblatt 40 000 „How to write an OPC UA Companion Specification“
weiterlesen
Andreas Faath
Andreas Faath
Leitung Interoperabilität – OPC UA
+49 69 6603 1495
+49 69 6603 2495
Dr. Christian Mosch
Dr. Christian Mosch
Leitung Industrie 4.0 Standardisierung
+49 69 6603 1939
+49 69 6603 2939
Heiko Herden
Heiko Herden
Projektkoordinator OPC UA
+49 69 6603 1315
+49 69 6603 2315
OPC UA Companion Specifications – wichtige Voraussetzung für die Einführung von Industrie 4.0
Eine der wichtigsten Grundlagen für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung von Industrie 4.0 ist der herstellerunabhängige Austausch von Daten in der Produktion. Der VDMA fokussiert sich dazu auf den Schnittstellenstandard OPC UA und erarbeitet branchenspezifische OPC UA Companion Specifications: plattformunabhängige und herstellerübergreifende Informationsmodelle, die die eigentliche Schnittstelle zwischen Komponenten, Maschinen und Anlagen darstellen.
Kommunikation mit OPC UA
Wichtige Grundlage für die erfolgreiche Einführung von Industrie 4.0 ist der herstellerunabhängige Austausch von Daten in der Produktion. Für diesen Zweck etabliert sich zunehmend der offene Schnittstellenstandard OPC UA. Der VDMA-Leitfaden zeigt, wie Unternehmen Industrie-4.0-Kommunikation mit OPC UA erfolgreich einführen können.